Question 13
Government Basic
Name one branch or part of the government.

There are three branches of the federal government: Congress, the president, and the courts. Each branch has a special role. The Congress is called the legislative branch. Congress writes, debates, and makes laws. The president leads the executive branch. The president enforces the laws. The president also represents the United States to other countries. The courts are called the judicial branch. The courts explain laws. They decide if laws follow the Constitution. They also decide if people break laws. The three branches of the United States government are Congress, the president, and the courts.

Other questions related to Government Basic
Government Basic
What does the Constitution do?
Government Basic
The idea of self-government is in the first three words of the Constitution. What are these words?
Government Basic
Under our Constitution, some powers belong to the federal government. What is one power of the federal government?

Section "Learn and Explore" uses official instructions and media files of US Citizenship and Immigration Services, US National Museum of American History, The Smithsonian Institution and other governmental and public organization.