Question 7
Writing the Constitution
How many amendments does the Constitution have?

The Constitution has 27 amendments. Amendments are changes to the Constitution. Congress added the first ten amendments in 1791. They are called the Bill of Rights. Since then, the government added more amendments. The Twenty-seventh Amendment was added in 1992.

Other questions related to Writing the Constitution
Writing the Constitution
What happened at the Constitutional Convention?
Writing the Constitution
When was the Constitution written?
Writing the Constitution
What is an amendment?

Section "Learn and Explore" uses official instructions and media files of US Citizenship and Immigration Services, US National Museum of American History, The Smithsonian Institution and other governmental and public organization.