Question 26
We elect a President for how many years?

We elect a president for a 4-year term. These are buttons from elections starting in 1976. They count every four years. 1980, 1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000. A candidate can run for president as many times as he or she wants. The person can only be elected president for eight years, or two terms of four years each. The Constitution says how many terms a president can serve. For example, President Dwight D. Eisenhower became president for the first time in 1953. Then he ran for president again. He won the election and, in 1957, was president for another four years. We elect a president for four years.

Other questions related to Voting
How old do citizens have to be to vote for President?
There are four amendments to the Constitution about who can vote. Describe one of them.
What is the political party of the President now?

Section "Learn and Explore" uses official instructions and media files of US Citizenship and Immigration Services, US National Museum of American History, The Smithsonian Institution and other governmental and public organization.